Focus Down Week 3: Above the Threshold

Aaron Blackman | July 11, 2018

The Western and Eastern Clashes are only a month away, and Week 3 in the HGC marks the halfway point for teams looking to qualify. Only the top four teams from each region get the chance to compete on the international stage in August, so everyone is aiming to be above that threshold. As we approach the middle of this part of Phase 2, let’s highlight some important matchups in Week 3.

Team BlossoM vs Tempest - Saturday July 14 at 2:00 a.m. PDT / 11:00 a.m. CEST

tempest.jpg

Currently, Team BlossoM is sitting outside of the fence for attending the Eastern Clash. While their 1-2 record doesn’t look impressive, those losses came at hands of Gen.G and Ballistix, so clearer skies should be on the horizon. If Team BlossoM wants a chance to attend their second Eastern Clash for 2018, they need to kick things in gear and start winning, beginning with their match against Tempest on Saturday. However, Tempest won’t make things easy for the middle of the pack as they look to continue their strong Phase 2 start against both Miracle and BlossoM in Week 3.

Team Liquid vs Team Dignitas - Sunday July 15 at 9:00 a.m. PDT / 6:00 p.m. CEST

tl.jpg

Here it is folks, the top two teams in Europe are set for a collision course during Week 3. Team Liquid is only two maps behind Team Dignitas in the standings and both teams have already squared off against opponents of a similar caliber, so this should be an excellent litmus test for the top of Europe. Historically, Team Dignitas has the upper hand when it comes to closing out series, winning six of their past nine meetings since January 2017. However, the two teams are tied at 18 map wins each against one another, so anything can happen in this series you do not want to skip.  

Team Freedom vs Endemic - Friday July 13 at 2:00 p.m. PDT / 11:00 p.m. CEST

freedom.jpg

Sitting at third and fourth in North America, Endemic and Team Freedom are hungry for wins in a bid to secure their tickets to the Western Clash in Burbank (you can get yours here). Both teams are slated for two series this weekend, but Team Freedom has the harder matchup when they go against Tempo Storm on Sunday, so a win here would help solidify their position in the top half of the region. Although rosters have been changed over the last year and a half, Team Freedom is 6-1 against Endemic in matches, and 18-9 in maps. Endemic will need to step up their game unless they want history to repeat itself. With former Team Freedom members Dane "daneski" Coleman and Yusuf "Kure" Sunka now on Endemic, they certainly have a shot. 

You won’t want to miss Week 3, so be sure to tune in live here at playheroes.com/esports. The weekend begins with Tempest vs Miracle on Friday July 13 at 2:00 a.m. PDT / 11:00 a.m. CEST.