Two weeks remain between now and the HGC Playoffs, which will help determine the remaining teams to qualify for the HGC Finals. Although the standings are close right now, Week 9 should provide some clarity across HGC Korea, Europe and North America. Let’s dive into some of the important matchups for this weekend!

Intercontinental Clash - Saturday September 15 at 5:00 p.m. PDT / 2:00 a.m. CEST

mf.png

Australia & New Zealand’s top two teams are joining Latin America’s best two teams at the Intercontinental Clash this weekend in Sydney, Australia with one HGC Finals spot on the line. Mindfreak and Crimson Gaming will be representing Australia/New Zealand while Encore Esports and Thunder Predator hail from Latin America. Details about the format can be found here, and the exciting tournament will be streamed on Blizzard’s ANZ Twitch page beginning Saturday!  

Ballistix vs Gen.G - Sunday September 16 at 4:00 a.m. PDT / 1:00 p.m. CEST

1.png

HGC Korea may come down to a photo finish as Gen.G leads the pack with nine wins while Ballistix, Tempest, Team BlossoM and Miracle are all right behind with eight. Several of these top teams have a double-header weekend, so there are plenty of chances for movement in Week 9. The highlight comes at the end of Sunday when Ballistix squares off against Gen.G. Historically, Gen.G has the upper hand, winning their last five meetings. Blood is in the water though, and if Ballistix can replicate Miracle’s approach to Gen.G, the number one spot will be within reach.

Fnatic vs Team Liquid - Saturday September 15 at 11:00 a.m. PDT / 8:00 p.m. CEST

2.png

Missing out of the Western Clash in August clearly lit a fire inside of Fnatic, who have their sights set dead-on for the HGC Finals. They need some help to get the second automatic qualification, and that path sets them on a collision course with the current favorite for qualifying: Team Liquid. While Fnatic is looking like a team with new energy, Team Liquid has had a rough time over the last two weeks, falling to both Team Dignitas and Leftovers. Expect a climactic match between the two teams on Saturday with so much on the line.

Endemic vs Simplicity - Sunday September 16 at 2:00 p.m. PDT / 11:00 p.m. CEST

3.png

Endemic faced a setback in Week 8 due to unfortunate circumstances that left them playing with two substitutes. At this point it would be hard for them to move above fifth in the standings since they are three wins behind Team Octalysis, but there is still plenty to play for. Simplicity will be coming into this matchup on Sunday wanting to put some more distance between themselves and the Crucible, and this series is likely their best shot at putting another win on the board. Overall, Endemic and Simplicity are tied at two wins each against each other, but Simplicity has ten maps wins to Endemic’s seven. This is an important series! Be sure to tune in to see the fireworks for yourself. 

There are only two weeks left of league play for Phase 2 so you won’t want to miss any of the excitement this weekend! Look no further than here at playheroes.com/esports to watch live. The weekend begins with Ballistix vs Supernova on Friday September 14 at 2:00 a.m. PDT / 11:00 a.m. CEST.