OK first, look at this wombo combo:

Now let’s talk about quarterfinal best-of-three matchups taking place at BlizzCon this Friday.

Gen.G vs. TheOne—Friday, November 2 at 12:00 p.m. PDT / 8:00 p.m. CET

Yes, this one looks like an open-and-shut victory for Gen.G. The reigning HGC Finals champions and winners of the Mid-Season Brawl enter the bracket stage as a first seed after going 9-1 in groups.

Their opponent TheOne shocked many fans after taking Battlegrounds off of Tempest, Leftovers, and HeroesHearth. It might have something to do with TheOne’s ringer, MelodyC, who has been influential in the team’s approach to the draft. While anything but a Gen.G 2-0 would turn heads, TheOne look far more polished than other teams that have represented China at past BlizzCons.

HeroesHearth vs. Liquid—Friday, November 2 at 2:00 p.m. PDT / 10:00 p.m. CET

It’s astonishing on its own that one of these two teams will crack the semifinals of an international event, and this is probably the best chance North America has had to make the semis in Anaheim since 2015.

But, Team Liquid looked downright scary during their group stage match against Tempo Storm. If HeroesHearth wants to move past them in Anaheim they must bring the same level of coordination they exhibited in their 2-0 group-stage victory against Tempest. This seems like an even matchup on paper, but anything can happen in a best-of-three.

Dignitas vs. Tempo Storm—Friday, October 26 at 1:00 p.m. PT / 10:00 p.m. CEST

Tempo Storm are among the best on this list when it comes to initiating team fights, but they often find themselves split in the downtime or down a person when it counts. If they can find the right engagements at the right times they might be able to find an early lead to balance on in this series.

You can’t really make mistakes against Team Dignitas. They are a fine-tuned and well-oiled machine that is also firing on all cylinders, which is why they haven’t dropped a map since mid-September. They look like they have a better handle on the draft than any other team at the tournament currently, but it’s likely Tempo Storm will bring some unpredictable drafts of their own to the table.    

Miracle vs. Tempest—Friday, November 2 at 4:00 p.m. PDT / 12:00 a.m. CET

Miracle proved themselves in Group A after defeating Team Liquid, BTG, and Tempo Storm. They are now tasked with taking down the second seed from Korea, Tempest. While Miracle looked more impressive, and posted better results that Tempest in groups, Tempest has defeated Miracle in eight out of their last nine head-to-head matchups. Be sure to watch the Warrior matchup between Tae Seok "Judy" Oh and Ji Hoon "Sign" Yoon, who are revered as two of the best in the world in their roles

Capture.PNG
You can fill out of your own HGC Finals Bracket with the Virtual Ticket Viewing Kit. It’s totally free, go check it out.

Gen.G vs. Team Dignitas Mid-Season Brawl Grand Finals rematch is a possibility, but only in the grand finals. If another team rises to the occasion, it is likely they will have to beat both of these favorites to claim the hardware. Teams are tasked with adapting to cheesy compositions on the spot in draft. Competitors must know the game inside and out in its current form to be successful beyond this point.

Tune in for the conclusion of the HGC Finals and the 2018 season this Friday after the Opening Ceremony. Also, check out the BlizzCon.com/watch experience. We will leave you with this Gravo-o-bomb combo, enjoy: