Announcing the Gold Club World Championship

Blizzard Entertainment
November 14, 2017

Ready for more Heroes esports?

Returning for its second year, the Gold Club World Championship (GCWC) will play host to eight of the top Heroes of the Storm teams in the world. The tournament begins November 27 and will see a selection of HGC teams battle for their portion of a $300,000 prize pool in Beijing, China.

The GCWC will serve as an exciting capstone for the 2017 calendar and a preview of things to come for the HGC in 2018. Here we will see newly assembled rosters face their first tests against top competition including giants like KSV Black (formerly MVP Black) and Ballistix, who might be testing out new lineups of their own. The GCWC field of teams represent the best in pro Heroes of the Storm, but these squads will have to earn their way to global events the hard way once the HGC's 2018 season gets going in January. 

GCWC_Heroes_Banner2.jpg

The teams participating in the 2017 Gold Club World Championship include:

  • Super Perfect Team (HGC China)
  • CE (HGC China)
  • Beyond the Game (HGC China)
  • Fnatic (HGC Europe)
  • Team Dignitas (HGC Europe)
  • Ballistix (HGC Korea)
  • KSV Black (HGC Korea)
  • Roll20 Esports (HGC North America)

The group stage of the event will run from 11/27–12/3 as a single round-robin with four matches per day. Each match will be a two-game set with two points awarded to a team for winning both games, and one point awarded to each team for a draw. Point totals from the round-robin group stage will be used to determine playoff seeding.

The broadcast for the group stage and playoffs will begin at 2:00 a.m. PST / 11:00 a.m. CET starting November 27.

When the group stage has concluded, there will be a two-day break as teams prepare for the playoffs, which will unfold at the Beijing National Aquatics Center (aka the "Water Cube") from 12/6–12/10. The playoff bracket will be double-elimination, with a best-of-five format for all matches. The broadcast for the playoffs will begin at 1:30 a.m. PST / 10:30 a.m. CET December 6, with the final broadcast day starting circa 9:00 p.m. PST on December 9 / 6:00 a.m. CET on December 10.

  • 1st place - $80,000
  • 2nd place - $70,000
  • 3rd place - $50,000
  • 4th place - $40,000
  • 5th & 6th place - $20,000
  • 7th & 8th place - $10,000

Providing commentary for the English broadcast will be:

Ballistix will be looking to defend their GCWC title against KSV Black, the freshly crowned champions of the HGC. New Heroes Junkrat and the Life-Binder known as Alextrasza will be eligible for play. Make sure to catch all the action live at Twitch.tv/GCWC starting November 27.