Get Hype for the Open Division

Blizzard Entertainment | January 11, 2018

Think you’re pretty good at Heroes of the Storm? Do you have the chops to hang with the rest of the elite in the HGC? The Open Division is your proving ground.

The Open Division is the path to becoming a Heroes pro. Compete in open cups to gain points and earn a chunk of the weekly $1,000 prize pool. While the money is nice, the points are the real prize—they seed the Open Division Playoffs, where the winning team will advance to compete in the Crucible.

Win the Crucible and you’re in the HGC.

We are pleased to announce that the long-running amateur Heroes community tournament organizer HeroesHype will be managing the Open Division for 2018. Follow HeroesHype and HeroesEsports on Twitter for more updates on the Open Division throughout the year.

Those familiar with the Open Division can expect a similar format to 2017. The North American and European Open Division will no longer alternate weekends, and will run on the same days. European Open Division cups will begin at 9:00 a.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CEST, with North America starting at 6:00 p.m. PST / 4:00 a.m. CEST.

Manuel "Grubby" Schenkhuizen and Christopher "Tetcher" Ivermee are returning to cast the European Open Division again this year, while Jacob "SolidJake" Kulinski and the new addition of Kurtis "Kala" Lloyd will be casting North America's Open Division.

You can catch all the Open Division matches on Twitch this year—follow our channel to receive notifications when the stream goes live.

Good luck, aspiring pros! The games begin Jan. 29.